How to Have a Happy Life

2013-06-15 12.32.43I gave up on the idea that I have to DO something to have a happier life. I released the fad diets, special exercise routines, top lists and social pressure to be happier. I no longer compare my happiness to others happiness. I’ve accepted that I tend to suffer from depression, not quite clinically but that’s only because I haven’t gone to a doctor and asked for a diagnosis. I am convinced if I did they would attempt to prescribe me some pharmaceutical remedy. 

I firmly believe that everyone should consider doing this if they can’t find any other way to let happiness in. But I temper that with the following description of the experience I’ve had. 

Happiness is something that just is. Let happiness in. Sit down and say, “yes!” to happiness. It’s too simple that we feel compelled to complicate it with our complexities. 

Happiness is the flip side of stress. Stress works the same way as happiness. It’s something that just is. You can let stress in or you can let happiness in. It’s not as complicated as we make it. 

Once I decided to let happiness in things have started to line up without any painful work or change on my part. My diet changed, my sleep changed, my relationships changed and my desires changed. All the hard work I was doing kept happiness away.

Now I spend more time with my family, enjoy my home more and take time to breathe. I stopped drinking alcohol (a major depressant) and began to crave water, good food and long walks. I write more, draw more, laugh more. I feel motivated to work on projects and to make money. I fall asleep like a baby and wake up without an alarm. I feel the sadness of the world more deeply and I use this pain as a focus of my meditations. I send out love and I totally get my hippy on when I try to change the world with my positive energy alone. Believing in this has helped me realize that we are all connected.

Shit still happens, people still step on my heart and say wicked things. When I allow stress to get close it definitely feels like a huge explosion of thunder next to my head and I have to refocus to myself with meditation, writing and some kind of physical expression (dance, yoga or playing with my dog). However silly things that used to matter now matter less and less each day. Journal writing and daily drawings have given me the tools to combat that ‘something’ that tries to knock me off my path; I only have to go back to my writing and find the crumbs I’ve left on the trail back to joy.

Everything needs to be practiced and deeply believed. Dedication and patience are key. Faith is required. Finding things that help you focus are the only tools you need. A big thing for me was to take a break from my more negative writing and instead to focus on finding good things and resetting my habits. I think it’s very difficult for most people to think about what their focus tool is. We are too busy working, rushing, shopping and overeating to think. 

Picture me now, sitting in the middle of my yard, eyes closed, head raised sending you positive energy and hoping you can let happiness in. The question is, “What do you love to do so much?” and “Why can’t you do it more?”. 

The book 344 Questions is an amazing book that really helped me find the answers to these 2014-07-17 08.33.50questions. It really ties together how family, relationships, home, work and health have to be prioritized above everything else. 

For me, I found using doTerra essential oils daily has really helped me, as well as making art, music, exercise and writing.  I’ve been reading a lot of other blogs about how to be happier. It’s interesting what you find when you google “how to be happier”. Go ahead and try it, I can wait.

I hear myself say, let happiness in AND do this work at the same time. Or rather, that’s probably what you hear. The truth is that you just have to honestly, truly and faithfully accept happiness. You have to say, “I accept Happiness into my life” over and over and over every day, every night and all the time until it’s sewn into your heart, mind and body. Once that really happens then all the other stuff will line up on it’s own; suddenly you’ll notice little things that really matter.

I am so excited to see how my writing, my art work and my body change as I continue to practice this thing called happiness more. Does this mean I will never write another post about the stupid people that cross my path or the crazy shit that happens to me? Absolutely not! It’s probable that those things may happen less and less but I kinda hope not. Reality dictates that things will just come across with more hysterical laughter than before. Laughing has been happening more and more all around me already. 

I hope to hear from anyone who reads these… how are you doing? 

 

 

Leave a Reply

